behindwindow02

 

 

A little about me

I have started my journey in academia in Moscow (Russia), when I graduated with a BA in Political Science from National Research University - Higher School of Economics. I then continued on to pursue an MA in European Affairs (Politics) in Lund University, Sweden. Graduating with distinction, I was then accepted to the research Master degree of the Erasmus Mundus programme International Master in Economy, State and Society (IMESS) at the University College London (UCL) (United Kingdom). After two years of rigorous study (one year at UCL and one at Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic), I graduated with distinction and was awarded a scholarship at Bremen International Graduate School of Social Science (BIGSSS) (Bremen, Germany). The four years in Bremen were funded by German Research Foundation (DFG)Universität Bremen and Jacobs University Bremen. In September 2013 I have defended my PhD thesis titled "European Health Divide Revisited: Health in Transition Countries and Beyond" at BIGSSS with a special distinction. Between January 2014 and August 2014 I have been working as a project researcher at the Stockholm Centre on Health in Societies in Transition at Södertörn Univeristy, Sweden. From August 2014 till August 2015 I was on maternity leave, starting with a new position of postdoctoral researcher at the Department of Sociology in Uppsala University, Sweden in September 2015. In March 2018 I I became a full-time resercher at the same department, but have been on parental leave again from October 2018 till September 2020.

Throughout my journey I have gained experience in both research and teaching, as well as coordinating a course for 150 students. My research mainly deals with determinants of health in a comparative cross-country perspective. I have a particular interest in socio-economic, political and health changes in Central and Eastern Europe. I am flexible and ready to try out new projects related to health and health care. My methodological expertise covers advanced topics in quantitative analysis, such as multilevel analysis, structural equation modelling, longitudinal cluster analysis, panel analysis, etc. I am an advanced user of the econometric package Stata and have working knowledge of SPSS, MPlus, MLwiN, and R.

Refer to the side menu for details on education, experience, etc.

Private life

Finding a work-life balance is extremely important for happiness and health, and I've been trying to find that balance for a while now.  Besides being a researcher and a lecturer, I am also a wife and mum of two wonderful kids. We are a very international family, and share our time between Uppsala, Sweden and Prague, Czech Republic. You can hear 4 languages around the table in our house, and 6 being played on TV. We love books, music and to take weekends off to spend time together. I myself like to skate in winter, jog year-round and read every day. :) I'm extremely bad with languages, but I don't give up. :)

 

Further details

 

Joomla templates by a4joomla